Reach Beyond The Break!!

Reach Beyond The Break

Rimpology101 Family, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  It’s a new season, it’s a new day family,  a brand new year given us by the Creator of all things!  I salute you all, and pray you receive Gods best and live in expectation for all that He has in store for you in this new yr, this new season of your life…..  Lets get started!

My life is filled with precious memories from my childhood and upbringing.  Some of my best memories were created while  attending Clark Road Missionary Baptist Church in Gary Indiana.  Oh the sound of the contemporary Gospel Choir.  Don’t hear to much of it now, its been replaced by the one man hype show (Kirk Franklin) and the “praise team.”  Guess you can call me old school, because I’m still a huge fan of the Gospel Choirs.

One of my favorite Gospel Choirs was the Fellowship Missionary Baptist Church Choir led by their Pastor, The Reverend Clay Evans…  Man could he tell a story!  One story I heard him tell has never left me, and it has become a form of motivation for me when times get hard and life isn’t easy.  I’m thankful I can reach back in my memory bank every now and then and pull this one out.  Rev. Clay Evans often told short stories as an introduction to a song, this particular story was called, “Reach Beyond The Break.”

There was a young man who went swimming the other day, the young man unfortunately went to far and ended up in deep waters.  The young mans father and his friends were standing on the bank.  When the father looked up and saw his son struggling and beginning to drown, the father began to panic, he himself could not swim.  Can you imagine seeing someone in trouble and there is nothing you can do about it, seems as if all hope is gone.  Well once the father came to himself, he looked around and saw a rope laying on the shore.  The father reached down and grabbed the rope and with all his might he threw the rope in the direction of his son!  He yelled to his boy, “son reach out and grab a hold of the rope!”  The young man caught the rope and the father began to pull his son to safety on the shore.  Not quite out of the deep waters, the son looked up and saw that the rope was beginning to break.  The young man began to panic and he yelled to his father, “Father, Father!! The rope is breaking, I’m not going to make it!”   At that moment the Father fastened his eyes on his sons eyes, and he yelled to him over and over, “Son, Reach Beyond the Break, and HOLD ON!”

My God has this story helped me through many a dark day my friends…  It’s so true that life at times can drown us and we are tossed to and fro by the waves and winds of our trials.  A great majority of them, like the young mans in this story,  are probably self-inflicted, but I thank God!!!  I thank him because when we are in the midst of our trouble, I mean in the heat of our mess, we too can call on our Heavenly Father and let him know our rope of  hope is breaking, my rope of joy is breaking, Father my rope of peace is breaking, my body is breaking, my marriage is breaking!  Father my children are breaking!  What ever that rope may be in your life, I’m so thankful we have a father who in the midst of it all can remain calm and let us know, that all we have to do is Reach Beyond the Break, and HOLD ON!!!!

Rimpology101 readers be encouraged my friends!  Reach beyond the break of 2013, grab hold of 2014, and HOLD ON!!!  Love ya, I want to hear from you!!   Please leave a comment, let me know you stopped by.  Thinking out LOUD is what I do best..  Peace…

2 thoughts on “Reach Beyond The Break!!

  1. Awsom song indeed. It was definitely published during the days of your youth. July 1, 1991 off their albumn, “The collection.” It is amazing how a brotha with such humble beginnings, The Reverend Clay Evans, son of A. Henry and Estanully Evans, was born June 23, 1925 in Brownsville, TN could have such a musically iconic impact across the years. If my math is correct, today, he’d be 88 years old.

    One of the things I’ve discovered on this sojourn is that any thing that is broken can be repaired. Often times in the realm of human experiences, things must be broken in order that with careful application can thus be made stronger. However, Saint Francis de Sales worded like this,

    When you encounter difficulties and contradictions, do not try to break them, but bend them with gentleness and time.

    The beautiful thing about this story is the relationship between the father and the son. They both recognized their weaknesses, limitations, and hopelessness and doing so discovered the tool, (or rope) the solution or (reaching beyond the break,) and the joy of being re-united together again.

    Some times life hurt so bad I don’t feel like reaching. The waterws of life become so turbulent, sinking seems like the obvious solution. Than I am reminded of Galatians 6:9

    Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

    As Unk Reggie often tell me, “thanks for the trip back down memory lane.” There is a lot of healing in music and power in the words that ride on the notes of the music scale. So Rimpology101 PLEASE do not stop reaching beyond the break and hold on with all your strength. All of us are pulling on the other end of that rope good buddy. Just keep thinking out loud so we can hear you over the storm buddy.

    It wouldn’t be fair if I didn’t share with you a quote I remember from Rev Clay evans …

    Clay evans use to say, “don’t be so heavenly bound you are no earthly good.”

    God has a work for you to do Sish and only you can do it.

  2. Beautiful song, I love clay and old gospel music. My favorite is Room At athe Cross. Reach beyond the break is a favorite of Mothers. Reaching beyond the break and hold on is good sound advice for every christian. Thanks for sharing Sish.

Leave a comment

