Over 30, but dressing like you’re UNDER 20! STOP IT!!

 

 

DISCLAIMER!!  I am no fashion expert, don’t desire to be!  However, I do believe that there is an unwritten dress code that all of us SHOULD follow!

I believe that as one gets older, the style of dress should change with the age to some extent.  Be advised that it is possible to stay trend-conscious yet “age-appropriate”.

It concerns me today when I see my peers (30 and up) trying to stay on top of the latest “swag” fashions and youthful designs within society.  Nothing is more GROSS in my opinion, than seeing a 35-year old man in skinny jeans that resemble stockings because there so tight, and shoes that stay below his ankles!  STOP IT!!  You’re to old for that foolishness!

This problem of not wanting to reflect our age is nothing new at all!  When I was coming up in the 90’s, FUBU was the designer of our generation, and just like you have over 30yr old folk wearing skinny jeans today, you had over 30yr old folk wearing FUBU back in the day!  It was horrible back then too.  🙂

Ladies,, you are not out of the water either!!  Modesty, especially as you get older is a must! Trying to relive the fashion statements you made in your twenties, in most cases will not work for you in your 30’s!  To be quite honest, you look THIRSTY, and SILLY trying to squeeze and manuever yourself into articles of clothing that no longer compliment who you are today at 35!!

STOP IT!!  🙂

Look, all I’m saying is embrace who you are today, show these youngsta’s out here what the epitome of cool and class looks like…

I want to hear your thoughts..  Do I have it wrong?  Am I just old-fashioned?  Let me know what you think.

It’s Rimpology101, thinkin out LOUD is what I do best!  Peace

 

9 thoughts on “Over 30, but dressing like you’re UNDER 20! STOP IT!!

  1. And while we’re at it, tell these grown men to stop sagging. Yeah, it looks bad on teenagers too, but at least can use the excuse that they don’t know any better. A grown man, however, has no business wearing his pants low enough for his underwear to be seen.

    Another fashion trend that not all people need to embrace is leggings. Women up to about age 45 with the right figure can look good in them. But if you have a head full of gray hair, dentures, wrinkles, and cellulite, leggings are not for you!

  2. Brotha you better preach. I don’t understand why folks our age hate being in there 30’s. I don’t know about you but I LOVE being in my 30’s especially considering that I didn’t think that I would see 21. I tell young men all the time to have at least one pair of dress shoes a pair of slacks and a pair of cackees (sp?). Then from there 2 polo shirts and 2 button downs. I know grown @$$ mean that don’t even have dress shoes. Women that try to hold on to their 20’s is so unattractive. Its sad man. Nas did a song called “2nd Childhood” that was exactly what you’re blogging about.

  3. THATS THE TRUTH IT MAKES ME SICK SEEING ANY MALE IN SKINNY JEANS AND A HALTER TOP BECAUSE THEY EVEN WEAR LITTLE SHIRTS NOWADAYS..THERE WARDROBE LOOKS LIKE THERE SISTERS BUT I KNOW I HAVE A WAYS TO GO MYSELF BECAUSE I STILL WEAR BAGGY JEANS IM 26 AND KNOW I NEED TO STRAY FROM IT BUT IVE BEEN DOING IT FOR SO LONG IM COMFORTABLE… I FEEL MYSELF MATURING THOUGH DONT THINK IM READY FOR THE SLACKS AND DRESS SHOES EVERYDAY YET BUT MAYBE IN MY NEAR FUTURE…..

  4. You are right trend-conscious yet age-appropriate I wonder what we women are thinking running around with clothes 2 sizes to small squeezin the life out of them. I am a grown woman and do not hear me now, do not want to relive my younger years, I’m proud of me in all my glory, naturally silver hair (mine),my size (mine) and the 58 years God has granted me(HIS).
    So thank you Brother Sishman for your insight sometimes it takes a man to tell us sisters it ain’t cute and it sure ain’t pretty. I never was a follower of fashion trends I’ve always walked to my own beat then and now.

  5. OMG, brother! You’re SO on time with this one. I work on a gov’t site (NOT for the gov’t, I might add) and I see men past 40 dressing like they’re still in junior high. It’s NUTS. And the women? Let’s not even go there.

    I’m turning 50 this year, and though I like to be comfortable, I KNOW better. Geez!

    Thanks again for addressing this, sir. Peace.

Leave a comment

